Product detail

Letters from the Suitcase

Letters from the Suitcase

Author: Cal Finnigan
$35.00 (NZD)  inc GST
Description

THE LETTERS FROM THE SUITCASE reveals the vivid, poignant and hugely detailed wartime correspondence between David and Mary Francis from 1938 to 1943, and a unique love story, sure to appeal to readers of Roald Dahl's LOVE FROM BOY, Sheila Hancock's MISS CARTER's WAR or Helen Simonson's MAJOR PETTIGREW'S LAST STAND Mary was only 21 when she met and fell in love with the privately educated 19 year old David in London in 1938. Their affair was passionate, and in a swing of disgust at their class divide, and the growing rise of fascism and the Nazi party in Europe, they joined the Communist Party. These letters reveal their intelligence and thoughtfulness, details of their lives working as a secretary at Bletchley Park and as a young officer in action on the other side of the world, their marriage against the wishes of David's parents, their sexual desire and longing, and Mary's experience of bringing up a small baby alone. David was to die in India, five years after their meeting, though his letters continued to reach Mary long after the event. At the heart, this is the story of a short but rich, rewarding and colourful love, written with vivacity and honesty. It is also a fascinating social history.

Reviews

'An incredible story' -- Judy Finnigan

Author description

Rosheen Finnigan was born in London and obtained a sociology degree from Leeds University where she met her husband, Cal. They lived for several years in Paris before returning with their two children to London and settling in Islington, where Rosheen worked for the Inner London Schools Psychological Service. Cal, a journalist, worked at the Guardian for many years. Now retired, they live in Constable Country on the Essex-Suffolk border

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781472243980
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Tinder Press
  • : June 2017
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : June 2017
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : en
  • : Cal Finnigan
  • : 941.0840922
  • : Paperback
  • : Illustrated edition
  • : 480