Product detail

The Wildflowers

The Wildflowers

Author: Harriet Evans
$34.99(NZD)  inc GST
Description

'I adored The Wildflowers. A sweeping, epic, moving read' Marian Keyes

RICHARD AND JUDY SUMMER BOOK CLUB PICK 2018

The new novel by Sunday Times bestseller Harriet Evans will transport you to a Dorset beach house, where you can feel the sand between your toes. Enter the home of Tony and Althea Wilde - the Richard Burton and Elizabeth Taylor of their generation and with a marriage every bit as stormy. This glorious tale of tangled family secrets and lies will leave you warm and glowing.

'A wonderful, engrossing novel, full of the most vivid characters and a truly memorable setting. A triumph' Sophie Kinsella

'She reels you in and then you're hooked, right to the last page' Patricia Scanlan

'I love it on so many levels, the immense feeling of place, the slow, irresistible sense of being drawn deep into the family and its story, and the strange hovering of menace somewhere in the idyll. Wonderful' Penny Vincenzi

Tony and Althea Wilde. Glamorous, argumentative ... adulterous to the core.

They were my parents, actors known by everyone. They gave our lives love and colour in a house by the sea - the house that sheltered my orphaned father when he was a boy.

But the summer Mads arrived changed everything. She too had been abandoned and my father understood why. We Wildflowers took her in.

My father was my hero, he gave us a golden childhood, but the past was always going to catch up with him ... it comes for us all, sooner or later.

This is my story. I am Cordelia Wilde. A singer without a voice. A daughter without a father. Let me take you inside.

Harriet Evans is 'perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Maeve Binchy' Best

Reviews
Intriguing and full of twists and turns * T*Rexes and Tiaras Blog * This absorbing, well-written book has a fairy-tale feel to it * Fabulous, Sun on Sunday * Harriet Evans' writing is just perfect * Linda's Book Bag * Gorgeous -- Cathy Rentzenbrink * Stylist * A crumbling house in Cornwall and a family with lots of secrets are brought to life by the evocative writing in Harriet Evans' novel The Butterfly Summer * Good Housekeeping * Multi-layered, heartbreaking and as beautiful as a butterfly wing -- Veronica Henry Great characters, gorge house, intriguing mystery, what's not to love?! -- Lucy Diamond Moving, gripping, heartbreaking -- Kate Williams A delightfully engrossing read -- Sarra Manning * Red magazine * [A] delightfully engrossing read. . . Romance, danger and an intriguing legacy - an ideal holiday read * The Lady * Loved it -- Gill Hornby The Butterfly Summer is an amazing achievement; heart-stopping and wonderful. It's an epic, sweeping, romantic story told brilliantly... I could practically feel the butterflies brushing against my cheeks as I read -- Sophie Kinsella
Author description
Harriet Evans grew up in London. As a child she loved reading and making up stories. She then progressed on to teenage geekdom and agonised Sylvia Plath- style poetry it's probably best not to dwell on. The career in musical theatre she'd always dreamed of never materialised for whatever reason, and so she ended up at Bristol University where she read Classical Studies. In her twenties she was lucky enough to get a job as a secretary at a publishers and instantly realised working with books was what she'd always wanted to do. She was a fiction editor for ten happy years but left in 2009 to write full- time, making up stories all day.Harriet still lives in London with her family. She likes old films, property websites, sloe gin cocktails, feminism and Bombay Mix, not in that order.She'd love to hear from you - please contact her on Twitter at @HarrietEvans, Facebook at facebook.com/harrietevansbooks or via her website, www.harriet-evans.com.
Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9781472221360
  • : Headline Publishing Group
  • : Headline Review
  • : February 2018
  • : 234mm X 153mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : February 2018
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 823.92
  • : 528
  • : Harriet Evans
  • : Paperback
  • : 1