Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

Books recently reviewed by Doris on Newstalk ZB with Leighton Smith. Tune in every Friday from 11.40 to here Doris talk about the latest releases.


Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

Reading Level:very good

Kavanagh begins his life patrolling the Wall. If he's lucky, if nothing goes wrong, he only has two years of this, 729 more nights. The best thing that can happen is that he survives and gets off the Wall and never has to spend another day of his life anywhere near it... read more

The Wall

THE SIX LOVES OF BILLY BINNS is a deeply moving and honest debut set in London against the backdrop of the changing 20th century. it is reading group fiction perfect for those who loved the quirky pathos of Gail Honeyman's ELEANOR OLIPHANT IS COMPL... read more

The Six Loves of Billy Binns

'Compellingly authentic, revelatory and beautifully written. A gripping tour de force' Damien Lewis
Almost seventy-five years have passed since D-Day, the day of the greatest seaborne invasion in history. The outcome of the Second World War hung ... read more

D-Day: The Soldiers' Story

A double biography of Virginia Woolf and Vita Sackville-West, their friendship and love affair. 
Virginia Woolf is one of the world's most famous writers - a leading light of literary modernism and feminism - and a British icon. ... read more

Vita and Virginia: A Double Life

The world's most beloved detective, Hercule Poirot - the legendary star of Agatha Christie's Murder on the Orient Express and most recently The Monogram Murders and Closed Casket-returns in a stylish, diabolically cl... read more

The Mystery of Three Quarters: the New Hercule Poirot Mystery

Sam Hunt is New Zealand¿s best-known and, arguably, best-loved poet. Coming to it: Selected poems is the latest collection of Hunt¿s poems to be published. It is intended to replace both Doubtless: New and selected and Knucklebones: Po... read more

Coming To It: Selected Poems

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

The remarkable story of the project undertaken by Paul Bangay and Monash University to transform a neglected car park at the university's Prato campus in Tuscany into a traditional Renassance walled garden, befitting... read more

The Italian Garden: Restoring a Renaissance Garden in Tuscany

You are born into it or marry in. Loyalty is absolute, bloodshed revered and you kill or go to your grave before betraying The Family. This code of omerta is how the 'Ndrangheta became the wo... read more

The Good Mothers: The Story of Three Woman Who Took on the World's Most Powerful Mafia

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

"No one captures the exuberant passions and inner struggles of women like Elizabeth Church."--Martha Hall Kelly, author of Lilac Girls
 
A powerful novel about a gutsy showgirl who tries to conquer her past amongst the glamour of 1960s ... read more

All the Beautiful Girls

From the Folio Prize-shortlisted author of Plainsong, Eventide and Benediction, a stunning novel about finding happiness.SOON TO BE A MOTION PICTURE"Absolutely beautiful" The Times"Gripping and tender" Publishers WeeklyThis is a love story. A sto... read more

Our Souls at Night: Film Tie-in

Addictive, dark, thrilling and full of twists! You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense. Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty All she wants...is everything you have! How far ... read more

The Last Mrs Parrish

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

She can't prove he did it. But she might die trying...From the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author of the Logan McRae series, comes a standalone spinoff featuring DS Roberta Steel.Revenge is a dangerous thing...Detective Chief Inspector Roberta Steel got caugh... read more

Now We Are Dead