Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

Books recently reviewed by Doris on Newstalk ZB with Leighton Smith. Tune in every Friday from 11.40 to here Doris talk about the latest releases.

'Absolutely beautiful' The Times 'Luminous' Ursula K Le Guin, Guardian 'I loved Our Souls at Night' David Nicholls This is a love story. A story about growing old with grace. Addie Moore and Louis Waters have been neighbours for years. Now they b... read more

Our Souls at Night: Film Tie-in

In November 2014, thirteen members of the Biden family gathered on Nantucket for Thanksgiving, a tradition they had been celebrating for the past forty years; it was the one constant in what had become a hectic, scrutinized, and overscheduled life. The Thanksgiv... read more

Promise Me Dad

Addictive, dark, thrilling and full of twists! You won't want to miss this mesmerising debut from a fresh new voice in psychological suspense. Perfect for fans of B. A. Paris, Shari Lapena and Liane Moriarty All she wants...is everything you have! How far ... read more

The Last Mrs Parrish

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

She can't prove he did it. But she might die trying... From the Sunday Times No.1 bestselling author of the Logan McRae series, comes a standalone spinoff featuring DS Roberta Steel Revenge is a dangerous thing... Detective Chief Inspector Roberta Steel got cau... read more

Now We Are Dead

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

'Guglani is the real deal' Michael Faber'Profound . . . Poetic . . . Humane' Gabriel Weston'Shows rare skill . . . Power and fear and morality' Sarah Moss, author of The Tidal Zone'Tender . . . designed to break your heart, mend it, then break it all over again' Rory... read more

Histories

For over twenty years, people turned to A. A. Gill's columns every Sunday - for his fearlessness, his perception, and the laughter-and-tear-provoking one-liners - but mostly because he was the best. 'By miles the most brilliant journalist of our age', as L... read more

The Best of A.A. Gill

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

Series:Lonely Planet

Hemingway's Cuba, jazz in New Orleans, the Italian Renaissance: whether it's art, music, literature, cinema or TV, there's something for everyone in this follow-up to Wine Trails and Food Trails. In this comprehensive guide, you'll find ideas and itineraries for... read more

Culture Trails

Coming Un Stuck is a cookbook like no other. Carrying a strong message of hope about how time and good food can heal, it is also Sarah’s gift to all those struggling to come to terms with a shitty time in their lives. Think ‘food therapy’ for a... read more

Coming Unstuck

Category:

 Recently Reviewed On Newstalk ZB

One mission... countless enemies.
Former mercenary Sonja Kurtz is hired by business tycoon Julianne Clyde-Smith to head an elite squad. Their aim: to take down Africa's top poaching kingpins and stop at nothing to save its endangered wildlife.
But as the b... read more

The Cull

Tender and savage, heart-breaking and hopeful, and deeply human, The Twelve Mile Straight combines the intimacy of a family drama with the grandeur of an American epic and will appeal to fans of American classics by Harper Lee, Toni Morrison and Willia... read more

The Twelve-Mile Straight

Set at the dawn of the eighteenth century and reviving Tom Courtney, hero of Wilbur Smith's bestsellers Monsoon (1999) and Blue Horizon (2003), this new novel packs action, romance, and exotic settings into a rousing historical adventure. It was not birth that... read more

The Tiger's Prey