Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

The hilarious second novel, and Sunday Times No 1 Bestseller, from author of the smash hit Why Mummy Drinks.Welcome to Mummy's world...The Boy Child Peter is connected to his iPad by an umbilical cord, The Girl Child Jane is desperate to make her fortune as an Instagram l... read more

Why Mummy Swears

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

For fans of The Book Thief, a powerful and heartbreaking story set during WW2 that stays with you long after the final page is read. Margot Baumann hasleft school to take up her sister's job in the mailroom of a large prison. Butthis is Germany in 1944, and the pri... read more

The Love That I Have

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'A word of advice: don't start reading this page-turner at bedtime, or you'll be staying up all night.' Psychologies, France Werner Zilch was adopted as an infant, and knows nothing of his biological family. But when, in 1970s New York, he meets the family of Rebecca,... read more

The Last of Our Kind

Category:

 Fiction Thriller

An ex-mercenary and an embattled journalist find themselves unlikely allies against a corrupt defense contractor in this "noir beach read" (New York)Ray Devlin is retired, living a simple life off the grid in Florida, when a visit from an old colleague stirs some bad memorie... read more

Some Die Nameless

Category:

 Fiction Thriller

A life-changing secret destroys an unlikely friendship in this "magnetic" (Meg Wolitzer) psychological thriller from the Edgar Award-winning author of Dare Me.You told each other everything. Then she told you too much. Kit has risen to the top of her profession and is on the... read more

Give Me Your Hand

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'A powerful tragedy' Independent Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of sinister obsession and friendship most deadly. . . Art historian Gavin and his wife Hannah, along with their young son Giles, arrive in a quiet seaside town in Belgium to e... read more

The Holiday Friend

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'Witty, satirical and deftly malicious' Anthony Burgess 'A maliciously witty account of literary skulduggery and loft pretensions.' TLS Delve into the sparkling and satirical world of Pamela Hansford Johnson with this wickedly funny tragicomedy about a destitute En... read more

The Unspeakable Skipton

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

Plunge yourself into the wry world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this story of seduction and marriage, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Jane Howard and Barbara Pym. Living out her happy teenage years in south-west London, Christine's only worries are living in the shad... read more

An Impossible Marriage

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'Striking first novel . . . qualities of vitality and humour which set it apart.' New York Times Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson through her explosive, banned debut, This Bed Thy Centre. . . Sixteen year old Elsie Cotton, who lives with her widowed moth... read more

This Bed Thy Centre

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

'A very cool and intelligent writer' TLS Delve into the world of Pamela Hansford Johnson in this tale of love, guilt and secrecy, perfect for fans of Barbara Pym and Elizabeth Jane Howard. Writer Christine Hall's own loving relationships and empathetic intelligence make he... read more

The Last Resort

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

For over ten years, Ros, Adele, Judy and Simone have been in an online book club, but they have never met face to face. Until now... Determined to enjoy her imminent retirement, Adele invites her fellow bibliophiles to help her house-sit in the Blue Mountains. It's a... read more

A Month of Sundays

Category:

 Fiction Contemporary

Series:44 Scotland Street Ser.

The latest installment of Alexander McCall Smith's perennially popular and irresistibly charming 44 Scotland Street series. When Pat accepts her narcissistic ex-boyfriend Bruce's invitation for coffee, she has no idea of the complications i... read more

Time of Love and Tartan (44 Scotland Street #12)